About Us

About Us

Collaborate. Share Responsibility. Make Connections.

Collaborate. Share Responsibility. Make Connections.

Milwaukee’s regional healthcare employers agree that workforce planning strategies must be undertaken now to build and sustain a future workforce. To that end, five major healthcare systems – Froedtert Health, Aurora Health Care, Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare, Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin and Columbia St. Mary’s have taken the lead by becoming investing stakeholders in creating an employer-led, demand driven workforce solution strategy.

Our Mission

Our Mission

The mission of the CHCSEW is to unite all appropriate stakeholders in a viable, flexible structure to locate, educate and support a workforce from service to professional levels in the healthcare industry in SE Wisconsin with a vision to create a supply of fully skilled and capable individuals prepared to meet the current and future needs of the healthcare field from entry-level to professional skilled-level roles.


Committees 1

Steering Committee

Oversees and guides the Center for Healthcare Careers.

Finance and Fund Development

Identify current and potential funding resources and to recommend financial policies, goals, and budgets that support the mission, vision, and strategic goals of the Center for Healthcare Careers.


Identify public and private funding resources, develop sustainability plan, advise governing body of funds obtained and educate funders on health career workforce development needs.

Committees 2

Public Relations/Communications Government

Prepare and provide relevant information for stakeholders and interested parties regarding the Center for Healthcare Careers', structure, plans and results. Engage government officials (funding and support) as interested parties.

Educational Outreach Support

Identify potential education partners at the high school, technical school and four year university/college levels with nursing and allied health programs.

Community Engagement

Identify community partnerships to develop support and create access to healthcare career opportunities for those who are interested in entering and/or advancing in the healthcare workforce.

Founding Members

Governing Board

Keith Allen, Froedtert Healthcare
Amy Rislov, Aurora Health Care
Tom Shanahan, Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin
Wayne Frangesch, Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare
Linda Ohser, Ministry Health for Columbia St. Mary’s

Our Partners

  • Froedtert & The Medical College 
of Wisconsin

    Froedtert & The Medical College 
of Wisconsin

    The only academic medical center in eastern Wisconsin and with its recognition for its dedication to staff is identified among the top 50 Diversity Employers of Choice. The Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin is a regional health care network made up of three hospitals and more than 30 primary and specialty care health centers and clinics throughout Milwaukee, Menomonee Falls and West Bend.

  • Aurora Health Care

    Aurora Health Care

    A nationally recognized leader in efforts to improve the quality of health care. Aurora Health Care is an integrated, not-for-profit, and all-for-people health care provider serving more than 90 communities throughout eastern Wisconsin and northern Illinois, with 15 hospitals, more than 155 clinics and over 80 community pharmacies.

  • Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin

    Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin

    The region’s only independent health care system dedicated solely to the health and well-being of children. Children’s has two hospital locations in Wisconsin (Milwaukee and Neenah). Children’s Hospital partners with neighborhood and community organizations to serve the primary care and dental needs of Milwaukee children with locations that include Downtown Milwaukee and residential Milwaukee area neighborhoods.

  • Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare

    Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare

    A not-for-profit Catholic healthcare system making our community stronger, healthier, and better. For more than a century, Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare has been serving people in southeastern Wisconsin communities with a commitment to providing compassionate health care. The Wheaton Franciscan network includes eight hospitals, three transitional and extended care facilities, two outpatient centers and a medical group that serves patients in nearly 50 locations in Southeast Wisconsin. The Wheaton organization recently became part of Ascension Wisconsin.

  • Columbia St. Mary’s

    Columbia St. Mary’s

    Columbia St. Mary’s, sponsored by Ascension Health and Columbia Health System, is an organization comprised of four hospitals, over 60 community clinics, the Columbia College of Nursing, and convenient access to several Urgent/Express Care Centers. We have all joined together to care for individuals and families throughout Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Washington and Sheboygan counties.